to shop or not to shop …

20 Jul

There’s no denying the fact that this blog is no longer about me trying to get out of my shopping addiction. It has completely evolved into a blog about a REAL HOUSEWIFE going through life. I’m not going to be a hypocrite and pretend that I am someone that I’m not/ The truth it is I LOVE TO SHOP. Plain and Simple …

So here’s my dilemma  in life as of this moment.

I got really depressed when I found out that Borders is closing and people are going to loose their job. Our economy has just taken a plunge from bad to worse. I feel so bad when I think of the 11,000 families that will be affected. So what do I do when I get depressed in the middle of the night and can’t go out .. I read my morning paper (aka the Shoe section of the Neiman Marcus web site). I sat for 4 hours just looking at every single shoe available at Neimans. While doing this,  I tell my self I should stop shopping and being foolish on spending my money on useless things. But after looking at all the shoes and feeding my loneliness with the sight of lovely things, I felt so much better. As a matter of fact, I felt so good that I started to look at the web-site of my most favorite shoe designer, Mr. CL. And then as Rebecca Bloomberg once said “You know that thing when you see someone cute and he smiles and your heart kind of goes LIKE WARM BUTTER SLIDING DOWN ON HOT TOAST? Well that’s what it’s like when I see a store. Only it’s better.” This was exactly how I felt when I saw this.

150 mm lady fur fur, patent leather, red, black, platforms

I want them !!! You know why?  “Because when I shop, the world is better!! and then it isn’t… and then I have to do it again!”

So I’m thinking, should I help save the debt problems of our country with my addiction? Or should I have a pity party and stop shopping and ruin our economy more?

When I buy $1400 shoes so many people benefit from it. From the shipping company, the city for the sales tax I pay, the employees of the store, the company where they purchased it from. It really is a giant snowball of people who are one step away from loosing their job because I chose to buy a $10 book in Amazon for $8. I am doing a good deed for everyone.

So my question is … TO SHOP OR NOT TO SHOP??

Leave a Reply

