sad celebration

2 Aug

I am a person who loves to celebrate. I always find a reason to plan something small or big for any occasion. I will always buy cake, get balloons, flowers, hire a band, get a DJ, face painters, air-brush tattoo artist, hire all the princesses you can ever think of to show up all together in one party, name-it-and-i’ve-done-it, or cook dinner / make a reservation some place at the very least  just to show someone how dear and special they are on a certain day that they need to be honored. And I can go on and on on the 100 thousand reasons on why we need to celebrate too! I always want to celebrate every single reason of joy for everybody I love!

So every August 1st, year after year my family and I celebrate the birthday of my dear sister in law Sharon. We have been doing this for the last 8 years or so. We’ve never done it in a big way though (other than her 30th birthday) we usually have dinner at home or go out to eat some where she likes, or somewhere I like because I’m very bossy that way! But in all these years, there is always one thing that never changes. It’s her cake. Her favorite cake is just a plain cake with fruit filling. She prefers the one from china town but I have no idea where to buy it so I always get it from this bakery called Paradise. So this is her cake this year …

Happy 33rd Birthday Sharon

So why am I calling this post a sad celebration? Because Sharon passed away unexpectedly last Thanksgiving. And I can’t get over her death. And I miss her so much. So much that today, I bought this beautiful cake that couldn’t be more perfect for her and then I took my family out for dinner so we can celebrate her birthday just like we do every single year. The only difference is, she’s not with us. Her family couldn’t be with us either because they have moved to New York shortly after her death so they can be close to where her body was laid to rest.

I am devastated. It’s the first August 1st that we are not all together singing Happy Birthday to her. Though, I tried to make sure we did something special to remember what should have been the 33rd birthday of someone so dear to us. It’s still a very sad day.

Happy Birthday Sharon. My dear sister, you don’t even know how much loosing you has devastated me. I miss you so much. I think about you all the time. I still can not get over the fact that you are no longer here. Heaven is truly blessed to have an angel like you! I love you …

Leave a Reply

